Political Scientist, Reinhard Heinisch, Received a Lifetime Achievement Award

Reinhard Heinisch received the 2017 Science Award from the Margaretha Lupac Foundation. The Foundation for Parliamentarism and Democracy, which has been set up at the National Council, has been awarding a Democracy Prize and a Science Prize each year since 2004. The award was presented on Monday evening in Vienna.

Geehrt wurde Professor Reinhard Heinisch für sein wissenschaftliches Lebenswerk. Nach mehr als 20 Jahren akademischer Karriere in den USA kehrte Heinisch im Jahr 2009 als Leiter des Instituts für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Salzburg wieder nach Österreich zurück.

Dort setzt sich der 54-jährige gebürtige Klagenfurter seither vor allem mit dem Blick auf Österreich aus dem Ausland auseinander. Neben Professor Reinhard Heinisch erhielten noch die Politikwissenschaftlerin Birgit Sauer (Universität Wien) und  der Politikwissenschaftler Klaus Poier (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz) den Wissenschaftspreis.

Foto: Preisträger Professor Reinhard Heinisch und Nationalratspräsidentin Doris Bures

Fotonachweis: Parlamentsdirektion / Johannes Zinner

Mag. G. Pfeifer


Universität Salzburg


Tel: 0662/8044-2435

E-mail to Mag. G. Pfeifer

  • News
    Salzburg bioscientist Robert R. Junker received a 1.2 million START grant for his work on biodiversity. One goal of Junker's project “Sequentielle Entstehung von Funktionaler Multidiversität” is to gain a comprehensive understanding of ecosystem processes in order to better plan and take future conservation measures.
    The Salzburger Hochschulwochen takes place under the title "ANGST?" From 30 July 30 to 5 August in the Großer Aula, as well as in lecture halls of the Theological Faculty.
    Ass. Prof. Dr. Susanne Auer-Mayer from the Department of Labor and Business Law at the University of Salzburg was honored by Federal President, Alexander van der Bellen, with the Herbert Tumpel Prize for her habilitation thesis "Mitverantwortung in der Sozialversicherung". The prize is awarded as part of the Theodor Körner Fund.
    Tanja Angelovska and Dietmar Roehm (both from PLUS) are the only Austrian scientists to have been nominated as associate members of the CARILSE (Center for Applied Research and Innovation in Language Sciences and Education) Research Center at the University of Portsmouth.
    In 2018, the European Commission will sponsor 42 Master's programs in Erasmus+ across all scientific disciplines. Five of these programs are coordinated by Austrian universities, including two by the University of Salzburg: Digital Communication Leadership and Digital Earth.
    Federal Minister Heinz Fassmann recently awarded the Didaktik der Naturwissenschaften (University of Salzburg - School of Education) for their high quality. The working group has repeatedly received the "Regional Educational Competence Center (RECC)" award. Achievements in biology, chemistry, geometric drawing/descriptive geometry, computer science, mathematics, media didactics and physics were honored.
    The 6th Salzburg Summer School will take place from 3 to 4 September, 2018. For two days, a comprehensive pedagogical summer education program will be offered to teachers and student teachers of all types of schools and subjects. Registration is possible.
    From Hortus Medicus to Pharma Research. An exhibition of the Association of Botanical Gardens 2018.
  • Veranstaltungen
  • Uni-Shop
  • University of Salzburg's facebook site University of Salzburg's twitter site University of Salzburg's instagram site University of Salzburg's flickr site University of Salzburg's vimeo site